Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

在數個月前的 Baselworld 2018,Zenith (真力時)  發佈了備有兩個版本的 Defy Classic,也就是 Defy 系列旗下的入門型號。在 Jean-Claude Biver 的領導下,Zenith 作出了明智之舉,以這兩款作品延續了於 2017 年推出,創新但價位較高(達五位數美元)的 Defy El Primero 21 與  Defy Lab。藍色大陽放射紋表盤款屬簡約造型,而開放式鏤空表盤款則會吸引一些鍾愛「Biver風格」(可見於 Defy Lab 及其他Hublot 和 TAG Heuer 等 LVMH 品牌)的人。我在 Baselworld 親身看過這兩款新作,我很高興 Zenith 帶來了這些價錢具競爭力    定價於 6,000 - 8,000 美元     的(非 El Primero)新品。

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測
所有圖片由 Ariel Adams 提供

這兩款新型號採用經拉砂打磨的 41 毫米鈦金屬表殼,可迎合這價位巿場的大部分買家。一直以來,Zenith 像是等同了計時碼表(雖然品牌採用過豐富的詞彙去詮釋 El Primero,但其在鐘表史上的角色就是第一款自動計時碼表),以及較少被提及的飛行員腕表。實際上,對於追求多功能、日常奢侈款腕表的人來說,計時碼表及飛行員腕表均非首選。於是,這兩款 Defy Classic 腕表要於一個已經「表口密集」的領域中爭一席位,而內裡已經站滿了多個主流品牌,如 Rolex、Omega、IWC 及 Cartier,雖說並非完全是直接競爭,但他們所瞄準的卻絕對是相同的客戶群。

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

嗯,雖說事實難以說準,但我認為 Defy Classic 鏤空款的銷情將會很好,因為它的造型格調就比其確實售價高出幾百美元。定位於 Hublot Big Bang 和 TAG Heuer Carrera Heuer 01 (及新版 Carrera Heuer 02)之間,Defy Classic 鏤空款忠實地傳承了這套獨特的 LVMH 設計語言。幸好 Defy Classic 的鏤空表盤營造出非常對稱的畫面,讀時畫面亦非常清晰。

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

通過那富建築美學的結構,例如那像是由五個音叉組的夾板,我們能看到 Elite 670 SK 機芯,它是由其他 Defy Classic 腕表所使用的 Elite 670 機芯改裝而成。Elite 670 機芯多用於 Elite 和超薄腕表之中,擺頻為每小時 28,800 次,具 48 小時動力儲存。Zenith 還作出了改良,包括加入了矽質擒縱叉和擒縱輪。

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

其 3.88 毫米的機芯厚度,為腕表造就了一個我甚為欣賞的地方    10.75毫米的表殼厚度。這種纖薄形運動腕表能輕鬆遊走於不同的環境及場合。它還具有 100 米的防水性能,因此它實際上還適合於戶外活動時佩戴,而不用擔心它遭沾濕。在這個價位上,Defy Classic 可能會吸引許多腕表收藏不太豐富的買家,而且擁有運動造型的 Defy Classic 能輕易藏於袖子下,這點的確是十分討好。

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

現在欣賞其透視表背,我們可以看到熟悉的 Zenith 五角星就處於眼前,你也能看到其背後的機芯運作。我真的很喜歡 Zenith 在這裡所用的美學設計,過去的表背實在沒有什麼特色可供介紹。回看那兩款不同的表盤,可見其風格和佈局各異,鏤空款的日期窗位於 6 時位,並且可看到繞盤轉動的日期圈。我知道這種透視日期圈設計並非人人喜歡;但就跟很多東西一樣,就讓它們留給知音人。

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

對於那些喜歡 Defy Classic,但又不熱衷現代鏤空表盤的人來說,幸好還有藍色放射紋表盤款能補上缺口。 其日期窗設於 3 時位,除此以外,這個端莊的 Defy Classic 腕表已沒有太多裝飾或風格可供描述。具活力的藍色放射紋表盤,襯以大三針及日曆窗,這配搭全是為了讓腕表保持簡潔,並簡單地以「ZENITH」和「DEFY」兩個英文字以強調簡約風格(儘管我真的是這顆 Zenith 五角星的粉絲)。

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

為了進一步簡化美學選擇,Zenith 為 Defy Classic 型號提供三種表帶選擇,分別是鈦金屬鏈帶、橡膠表帶和覆有鱷魚皮的橡膠表帶,它們均與 Defy Classic 的設計相匹配,但我不得不說我個人更為喜歡鏈帶及簡單的橡膠表帶,而不是鱷魚皮款。 這款腕表的運動風格太濃厚了,於我而言,要把腕表視作經常佩戴的日常表,佩戴短吻鱷魚皮表帶才顯得合理。

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

Zenith Defy Classic 腕表評測 腕上評測

作為 LVMH 集團旗下的腕表品牌,Zenith 是時候進入更廣泛的市場區隔,那可能是一個已對品牌表示讚賞,但還未找到合適表款的客戶群,或是因為覺得腕表造型未夠時尚及運動感不足,又或是屬意低於五位數美元的價格範圍。就目前情況,Defy Classic 便遠低於五位數了,甚至是滿足了剛提及的各項條件,對於像我這種不是太熱愛計時碼表的人來說,這是件值得興奮的事情。為此品牌和 Biver 都應記一功,他們了解這客戶群渴望的什麼產品,並準確地把表款定位在 TAG Heuer 和 Hublot 等品牌之間,避免了品牌間直接競爭。

Zenith Defy Classic 藍色表盤款配鈦金屬鏈帶定價為 HK$ 52,100(6,900 美元),搭襯另外兩款表帶則售 HK$ 46,500(5,900美元);Defy Classic 鏤空表盤款售價高一點,膠帶款為 HK$ 51,000(6,500 美元),鈦金屬鏈帶款為 HK$ 59,000( 7,500 美元)。zenith-watches.com

Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

A few months back at Baselworld 2018, Zenith introduced two versions of the Defy Classic, entry-level models of their eponymous Defy range. With Jean-Claude Biver at the helm, Zenith made the wise move to follow up 2017’s innovative and pricey Defy El Primero 21 and Defy Lab with these two versions that are in the mid-five figure range. The simpler model is the sunburst blue dial version while the openworked dial will appeal to someone who appreciated the very Biverian style of the Defy Lab (among others from LVMH brands like Hublot and TAG Heuer). Having handled both of these at Baselworld, I was happy to see Zenith offer something new (and non-El Primero) in this very competitive price range between the $6,000-$8,000 mark.

 


Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

All images by Ariel Adams

Both of these models cast a wide net for buyers in this segment, coming in a 41mm wide case that’s done in brushed titanium. Zenith has long been essentially synonymous with chronographs (copious words have been dedicated to the El Primero movement and its role in horological history as being the first automatic chronograph) and to a lesser degree, pilot’s watches. Practically speaking, neither chronographs nor pilot’s watches rank near the top of the list for someone seeking a versatile, everyday luxury watch. So, do these two Defy Classic watches present compelling alternatives in a category densely populated with mainstream peer brands like Rolex, Omega, IWC and brands like Cartier that aren’t direct competition as far as respective products go but definitely often vie for the same demographic?

Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

Well, it’s a yes and a no. I think the openworked Defy Classic is going to move a lot of units considering that it just looks like it would cost significantly more than the few hundred dollar premium it carries. Positioned between the Hublot Big Bang and TAG Heuer Carrera Heuer 01 (and newer Carrera Heuer 02), the openworked Defy Classic carries this now-distinct LVMH design language faithfully. Fortunately, the openworked dial keeps everything pretty symmetrical and actually quite legible.

Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

Past the architectural bits on the dial like the five tuning-fork style “bridges” we see the Elite 670 SK movement, that comes in the form of the non-openworked Elite 670 SK for the other Defy Classic watch. Used in some of their Elite and Ultra Thin watches, the Elite 670 movement operates at 28,800 vph and has a 48-hour power reserve. Zenith has also updated this movement to include a silicone lever and escape wheel.


Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

The 3.88mm thickness of the movement allows for what is one of the aspects of the watch I appreciated the most, which is the 10.75mm case thickness. That’s slim and a sports watch like this is benefited from the ability to be versatile in several environments. It also has 100m of water resistance so it can actually be worn outdoors without worry of it getting wet. At this price point, many buyers attracted to the Defy Classic might not have extensive collections and the ability to slip under a sleeve while also being sporty is very appealing.

Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

Looking at the exhibition caseback, we can see the now familiar Zenith star at the forefront with a look into the movement behind it. I really like the aesthetic stamp Zenith has put here, and past that there is not much else to say about the caseback. Looking at the two distinct dials however, there are both stylistic and layout differences. The openworked model has the date window at 6 o’clock with a look into the date wheel circumventing the dial. I know these visible date wheels irk some people while others enjoy them which, like many other things, leaves the matter up to one’s taste.

Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

Fortunately for those who like the gist of the Defy Classic but not the overtly modern openworked dial, the sunburst blue traditional model dials the boldness in design down several notches. With the window over at 3 o’clock, this more demure Defy Classic doesn’t have much in the way of frills or flair. A vibrant sunburst blue dial, three hands, and the date window are all about keeping it simple. The minimal dial text just reading “Zenith” and “Defy” underscores this point (though I am really a fan of the Zenith star up here also).

Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

To further narrow down aesthetic tastes, Zenith allows three strap options for either Defy Classic model. The titanium bracelet, rubber strap, and rubber with alligator leather strap options all match the design of the Defy Classic but I have to say I really personally like the bracelet and simple rubber strap much more than the alligator version. The watch is too sporty as well as too much of an everyday wear for me to feel like the alligator makes much sense.

Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On Zenith Defy Classic Watch Hands-On Hands-On

As far as LVMH watches go, it’s Zenith’s time to reach a broader market segment that may have appreciated the brand but never found a watch that matched their lifestyle, looked modern and sporty enough, and could be acquired for under five figures. In this case, well under five figures. The Defy Classic line is a successful achievement in all of these points and for people like me who aren’t the biggest chronograph fans, it’s something to cheer about. The brand and Biver deserve due credit here for understanding what this segment of buyers wants and giving it to them in a bracket that sits comfortably between brands like TAG Heuer and Hublot.

The Zenith Defy Classic blue dial is priced at $5,900 on either of the straps and $6,900 for the full titanium bracelet model. The Defy Classic openworked dial models are slightly more at $6,500 on the strap and $7,500 on the titanium bracelet. zenith-watches.com



Subscribe to our Newsletter